Composers: Take The Plunge and win £1000

Following the success of the 2009 competition Plucked from Nowhere, the Álvarez Chamber Orchestra (ÁCO) is inviting composers of any age and nationality to submit works for the 2010 Free Style awards. As the title of the competition suggests, there is no specification as to the length or nature of the work, in addition, there is no restriction on the number of works submitted by each composer.  The work may be a new work or may have been written at any time in the composer’s career.

The maximum size of the orchestra is as follows:
The timpani player can also double as a second percussionist.

Competition adjudicators will include Philip Cashian, head of composition at the Royal Academy of Music and Paul Patterson, composer-in- residence with the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain and Manson Professor of Composition at the Royal Academy of Music.

The deadline for score submission is September 21st, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar